Review: Scott Westerfield’s Uglies Series

Part Time Monster

It has taken me several months to finish Scott Westerfield’s Uglies series. They’re not that long, and I was so intrigued that I wanted to fly through them, but I’ve had to spend the majority of my reading time on comps exam information. Uglies was published in 2006; the books Uglies, Pretties, and Specials originally formed a trilogy, though the book Extras was later added.

The Uglies series tells the story of Tally Youngblood, who is 15 at the outset of the first novel. Tally lives in an unspecified but distant future, after a series of wars virtually wiped out humanity. In her world, at the age of 16, everyone undergoes a surgery to become pretty: a ratio-based, ideal-standard-of-beauty, compulsory surgery that makes everyone the epitome of beautiful. In this society, newly operated on pretties are free to (and are expected to) do nothing but party and play all day…

View original post 767 more words


One Response to “Review: Scott Westerfield’s Uglies Series”

  1. Thank you very much for reblogging this!

    It was a scheduled post because Diana has been out of pocket for most of the week, but she’ll be back tomorrow, and will be very happy that you liked it enough to share it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: